Chakra Color Meanings

chakra colors

The seven major chakras are each linked to particular colors. The colors are significant to the way each chakra is understood. They are similar to the colors of the rainbow; starting from red and ending with violet. The colors each reveal the positive characteristics of a chakra when it is balanced and the negative effects and characteristics when it is not balanced. This article will reveal the different colors that are associated with each chakra and the effects of each as they affect us physically, emotionally and spiritually.

Base (Root): Root Chakra

This chakra is represented by the red color. It is located at the point between the sexual organs and the anus. Red is a symbol of self awareness. It shows that all life and survival comes from the earth. Red gives power and energy on all levels. The positive meaning of the red chakra color includes strength of the will, security, courage and pioneering. The negative meaning on the other hand means fearfulness, insecurity, self pity and aggressiveness.

Navel (Sacral): Second Chakra

The second chakra is represented by the orange color. Its location is about two inches below the navel. Orange color is the symbol of success. It is regarded as the best emotional stimulant because it makes us independent and social as well as giving us the freedom to be ourselves while expanding our interests and activities. In a positive way, orange chakra color is joyous, sociable, creative and independent. On the negative side, it makes people over-dependent, withdrawn, destructive and despondent.

Solar Plexus: Third Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is situated below the sternum. It is associated with the yellow color.  This color is regarded as a creative color and it relates to how we feel about ourselves and how we feel others feel about us. By connecting us to our mental self it increases self awareness and stimulates interest and curiosity. Its positive meaning includes confidence, optimism, alertness and good humor. On the negative side it makes people develop an inferiority complex, sarcasm, pessimism and being over analytical.

Heart: Fourth Chakra

The heart chakra is associated with the color green. It is located at the center of the chest. Green is regarded as the reservoir of love. This is a place that controls giving and receiving unconditionally.  It cleanses and balances our energy, giving us feelings of renewal and harmony. The positive aspects of the green color are – compassion, generosity, harmony/balance and love. The negative includes indifference, jealousy, miserly and bitterness.

Throat – Fifth Chakra

The fifth chakra is located at the throat. It is represented by the color blue. Blue symbolizes self expression. This means the ability to communicate our needs and requirements in a way that we can be heard and understood.  Truth, purpose, relaxing and pacifying are some of the best ways to describe the color blue and the fifth chakra. The positive aspects of blue include loyalty, trustworthiness, tactfulness and calmness. The negative aspect includes unfaithfulness, untrustworthiness, coldness and self-righteousness.

Third Eye (Brow): Sixth Chakra

The sixth chakra is situated in the middle of the forehead; in-between the eye brows. It is represented by the indigo color. This chakra color symbolizes self responsibility in a way that is mature. The positive aspects include being highly intuitive, faithfulness, clear sightedness, integrity and an orderly mind. The negative aspects include – inability to trust intuition, scattered mind, blinkered vision and being inconsiderate.

Crown: Seventh Chakra

The seventh chakra is located at the top of the head. It is represented by the color violet. This chakra relates to self knowledge and spiritual awareness.  The positive aspects include reverence for life, sacrificing self in serving others, idealism and the ability to select the right spiritual path. The negative aspect shows no concern for others, vanity and feelings of superiority.

Now that you know the meaning of the seven chakra colors, you are now better equipped to relate them to areas of life that affect you.

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.