Colors of Auras

When it comes to aura colors, the following information is what you need to know. Your aura can contain any one of the million color variations in the universe. The color of the Aura is based on frequency (cycles/second) of light energy. It changes colors constantly, and each shade affects the aura colors’ meaning.  Your mood, what you’re doing and your physical, emotional, mental and spiritual level all determine the colors of your aura at any given time. So it is not easy to squeeze aura colors meaning down into an aura color meaning color code.  With that said, it is still possible to classify aura colors according to what they generally mean. Keep reading to know what the colors in the auric body are, the specific meanings of the colors and where the colors are located in the aura. This will help you to understand their significance better.

What are the Colors in the Auric Body

To fully know and understand what the colors in the auric body are, you need to know about color shades. They are simply three or more variations of the same color. For example, you can have up to 10 types of the color ‘blue’. Now that we have that out of the way, we can say that auric colors are simply different shades of the different colors of the rainbow, including black and white. Since the colors constantly mix up according to our physical, emotional and spiritual states, the resulting colors can be of so many types. Apart from red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet; we can also have grey, brown, black, white, purple and other colors that results from mixtures. Let’s explore what the general meaning of these aura colors are.

Do the Aura Colors have Specific Meanings?

Each color in our aura has meaning. Since the colors mix up constantly according to the energy fields surrounding us, their meaning is generally related to our physical, spiritual and emotional state at any given time. This means that different tones of the same color communicate different meanings. In general, the more colorful, cleaner and brighter the Aura, the better and more spiritually advanced is the person. Also, the more uniform the color distribution in the Aura, the healthier and more balanced the person is. Colors that look faded in the aura indicates that there is something wrong with that person Based on this, the colors of the aura can generally be based on their positive and negative meanings.

For example, indigo means intelligence and spiritual aptitude. Indigo color is one of the best researched because of its link to deep spiritual truths and wisdom. You will hear things like Indigo kids, Indigo consciousness etc. It is because of what it means in the aura.

Blue means inner peace and tranquil calmness. It can often be felt around a person with a strong blue aura. These people allow others around them to feel calm and free of anger or other negative emotions. It is also regarded as a healing color.

Where are the Colors Located in the Aura?

The colors are located within the energy fields surrounding our physical body. They are arranged in egg-shaped strata around the head and body. They also take the colors of the rainbow of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. The innermost color; that closest to our skin is red while the outermost color is violet or purple. They extend outwards, between 4 to 6 feet from the human body.

Aura colors, their meanings and where they are located in the body will help us to classify and relate the dominating color around someone to the present physical manifestation of someone at any given time.


  1. David Min September 20, 2012
  2. Janet Erickson September 21, 2012

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.